Information about Deerpark

Information from O'Donovan's Field Name Books

Standard Name:
Irish Form of Name:
Páirc na Bhfiadh
park of the deer
Civil Parish:
Other Forms of the Name with authority source (if provided) in italics:
Páirc na Bhfiadh
Pairc na bfhiadh
Deer Park Lodge
Deerpark or Parknavia Local
Deerpark Vestry Book 1826
*N.B.The plans and documents connected with the townlands in which these places are situated were complete before it was discovered that they belonged to the Parish of Athenry. See Name Book No. 440. *Cahermore, Deerpark, Puttachaun, St. Sweeny’s Well, Waterview, Breanloughaun
It is the property of the family of Burkes. The residence of Mrs. O’ Shaughnessy.
6 miles N.W. of Athenry. A sub denomination of Derrymacloughan.

Townland Information

What is a townland?:
A townland is one of the smallest land divisions in Ireland. They range in size from a few acres to thousands of acres. Many are Gaelic in origin, but some came into existence after the Norman invasion of 1169
Deerpark is in Derrymaclaughna townland.